Wachtell Lipton Team Wins Section's 2009 Brief Writing Award

At the Spring Meeting in Cooperstown, New York, on May 2, 2009, the Honorable Judith S. Kaye announced Marc Wolinsky, Peter C. Hein, Ian Boczko, Garrett B. Moritz, Catherine Hardee, Carrie M. Reilly, and Jennifer R. Galeon of Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz as the winners of the Section's 2009 Award for Excellence in Commercial Brief Writing. The Wachtell Lipton team received the award for its Memorandum of Law in Support of Motion for Summary Judgment filed on June 13, 2008, on behalf of Defendant JPMorgan Chase & Co. in *In re Bear Stearns Litigation*, a New York County Commercial Division case assigned to Justice Herman Cahn.

This year, submissions for the Brief Writing Award competition were accepted from members of the Young Lawyers Section as well as the Commercial and Federal

Litigation Section. As in prior years, briefs and memoranda of law of up to 25 pages that had been filed in New York State or federal courts during the prior calendar year were eligible for consideration. The entries were judged by U.S. Magistrate Judge Andrew J. Peck, Jonathan D. Lupkin, and James P. Yellen. The competition was coordinated by Susan M. Davies.

The Section congratulates the Wachtell Lipton team on being the 2009 winners, and expresses its thanks to the competition judges and to everyone who entered the competition.

A copy of the Wachtell Lipton's team's Award-winning brief is available on the Section's Web site at www. nysba.org/comfed.



Garrett B. Moritz, who accepted the 2009 Award for Excellence in Commercial Brief Writing on behalf of the team from Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz, is pictured (second from left) with Vincent J. Syracuse, Hon. Judith S. Kaye, and Susan M. Davies.